Cycle III, is from the 6th to the 8th grade, during which the pace of work, at school and at home, is intensified to prepare the pupils for the transition to Secondary school.

Days at school: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday morning, Thursday and Friday
Class hours: 8:30am-3:30pm (children are welcomed at 8:00am), Wednesday morning 8:30-12:00

English

Percentage of teaching in French and English:

  • In 6th grade: English 45% / French 55%
  • In 7th and 8th grade: English 30% / French 70%

In the final two years, English is taught :

  • Through complete immersion on a Wednesday morning
  • In co-teaching one afternoon per week
  • In intensive language teaching 1 hour 30 mins per week

Little by little, our pupils from 7th-8th grade are initiated into the SAT 2 program. The English objectives lead to the passing of the Cambridge University Exams. The tests that they take are either at level A2 or B1 - CEFR (Common European Framework of Reference for Languages). They are either KET (Key English Test) or PET (Preliminary English Test) for schools.


German

The objectives at the end of the 8th grade are those of the Romand Program of Study. They must acquire and develop the skills, which enable them to understand short texts, simple stories, game rules, letters and forms. They must have a certain vocabulary and be able to identify certain language characteristics and patterns. They must be able to react to a given situation by expressing themselves in clear sentences.

At the end of their education at La Découverte, the children take the Genevan Cantonal exam in German. Our German teachers are all native speakers.

Detailed objectives

Our learning objectives are assessed at the end of Primary according to the procedures of the Geneva State.

Read the objectives:

French and Maths (pdf)


Cross-curricular objectives

Artistic, cultural and environmental education:

  • School, a place of culture for young people
  • Culture, the source of knowledge and learning

More information (pdf)

Assessment

Parent/Child/Teacher meeting in November and May

More information in Assessment


End of Cycle III report

  • Cantonal exams in French, Maths and German
  • Cambridge University Exam KET or PET
  • Parent meeting at the end of 8th grade with a written report sent to the parents and the child's prospective Secondary school

Information technology

Gradually, they learn to use a computer and to manage their folders in an autonomous way. They discover useful programs for the presentation of their class work and learn to use the Internet in an intelligent way, teaching them to complete their research in complete security.

Information technology is integrated into the class work and may be a time to complete research project during a themed lesson, or to shape and record work intended to be read by a third party. Little by little, the children take on board the management of their own digital portfolio, which is available for families to view.

The class teachers and Information technology teachers work collaboratively so that the technology objectives are integrated into the program of study.

More information (pdf)

The practice of philosophy with children

At the end of the 1960's, an American philosopher, Matthew Lipman, wrote a short book explaining the story of a group of children who set out to discover the principles of the art of philosophical thinking. This first essay, 'Harry Stottlemeier's Discovery', is intended for children from 10-12 years and its central theme is the study of the rules of logic. The story scenario is the creation of a learning community where everyone plays their part in a communal search for truth and for meaning. Through this book, a central idea can be perceived that will guide the children throughout the process: it creates conditions for young people to think by and for themselves with rigour, coherence and originality.

This initial experiment revealed itself to be so convincing that Matthew Lipman developed it further, with Ann Margaret Sharp, creating new novels concerning ethics, aesthetics, epistemology and originality. The objective remains the same: allowing the children to participate in a thought process according to the principles of philosophical discussion.

As philosophy is key for developing critical thought, creative though, self-confidence and social skills, there has been growing interest in the practice of philosophy with children, because of its contribution to the development of autonomous, free, responsible individuals.

Recognised by UNESCO as a way of putting emphasis on democracy in education, this practice can be found today in schools in over 60 countries.

At La Découverte, it seemed essential to introduce, gradually, the practice of philosophy with the children as path to building coherent arguments, nourishing critical reflexion and constructing thought processes.

Cycle III, de la 6e à la 8e, trois années pendant lesquelles l’ensemble du rythme de travail en classe et à domicile est intensifié pour préparer les élèves au passage à l’école secondaire.

Jours de classe: lundi, mardi, mercredi matin, jeudi et vendredi
Horaires de classe: 8h30 à 15h30 (accueil dès 8h) - mercredi 8h30 à 12h

Anglais

Pourcentage de l’enseignement en français et en anglais:

  • en 6e: anglais 45% / français 55%
  • en 7e et 8e: anglais 30% / français 70%

Dans ces deux derniers degrés, l’anglais est travaillé :

  • en immersion complète le mercredi matin
  • en co-teaching une après-midi par semaine
  • en cours de langue intensif 1h30 par semaine

Peu à peu nos élèves de 7e- 8e sont initiés au programme du SAT 2. Actuellement, les objectifs d’anglais visent la réussite des examens de Cambridge University. Les tests auxquels ils sont présentés sont de niveau A2 ou B1 - CEFR (Common European Framework of Reference for Languages). Il s'agit des KET (Key English Test) et PET (Preliminary English Test) for schools.


Allemand

Les objectifs en fin de 8e sont ceux du Plan d’Etudes Romand. Il s’agit d’acquérir et de développer des connaissances qui leur permettent de comprendre des textes courts, des histoires simples, des règles de jeu, une lettre, un formulaire. Ils se constituent un bagage de mots et identifient quelques caractéristiques du fonctionnement de la langue. Ils doivent pouvoir réagir à une situation donnée en s’exprimant avec des phrases compréhensibles.

A la fin de leur scolarité à La Découverte, les élèves passent l’épreuve cantonale de l’Etat de Genève. Nos enseignants d’allemand sont tous des locuteurs natifs.

Objectifs détaillés

Nos objectifs de fin de primaire - Harmos cycle II (5e-8e) - correspondent à ceux du Plan d'Etudes Romand (PER) pour les matières des épreuves cantonales, soit:

Mathématiques

Français

Allemand


Objectifs transversaux

Education artistique, culturelle et environnementale:

  • L’école, lieu de culture pour les jeunes
  • La culture, source de savoir et d’apprentissage

Plus de détails (pdf)

Evaluation

Entretien parents/enseignant/élève en novembre et en mai

Plus d'info dans Evaluation


Bilan fin de période III

  • Epreuves cantonales en français, maths et allemand
  • Test de Cambridge University KET ou PET
  • Entretien tripartite à la fin de la 8e basé sur un rapport écrit qui est envoyé aux parents et à l’école secondaire dans laquelle l’enfant continue sa scolarité

Informatique

Progressivement, les élèves apprennent à utiliser un ordinateur et à gérer leurs dossiers de façon autonome. Ils découvrent des logiciels utiles à la présentation de travaux de classe et apprennent à utiliser l’Internet de façon sûre et intelligente de manière à se former à la recherche d’informations en toute sécurité.

L’informatique est intégrée au travail de classe et doit servir à compléter les recherches dans le cadre de conférences menées sur certains thèmes et à permettre la mise en forme et en page de travaux destinés à être lus par des tiers. Peu à peu, ils s’approprient la gestion de leur portfolio numérique qui sera à disposition des familles.

Les enseignants de classe et d’informatique travaillent en étroite collaboration afin que les compétences informatiques soient intégrées au programme.

Plus de détails (pdf)

Pratique de la philosophie avec les enfants

A la fin des années soixante, un philosophe américain, Matthew Lipman, raconte dans un court roman l'histoire d'un groupe d'élèves partis à la découverte des principes de l'art de penser de manière philosophique. Ce premier essai, La découverte de Harry, est destiné aux enfants de 10-12 ans et son thème central est l'étude des règles de la logique. Le scénario de cette histoire est la création d'une communauté d'apprentissage au sein de laquelle chacun prend part à une recherche commune sur le sens et la vérité de ce qui s'y dit. Avec ce roman, on peut percevoir l'idée centrale qui va guider la pratique de la philosophie avec les enfants par la suite : créer des conditions permettant aux jeunes de penser par et pour eux-mêmes avec rigueur, cohérence et originalité.

Cette première expérience se révèle rapidement si probante que Matthew Lipman la développe avec Ann Margaret Sharp en créant de nouveaux romans ayant trait à l'éthique, l'esthétique, l'épistémologie et la politique. L'objectif demeure le même : permettre aux enfants de participer à une réflexion animée selon les principes de la discussion philosophique.

Parce qu'elle développe la pensée critique, la pensée créatrice, l'estime de soi et la socialisation de l'enfant, la pratique de la philosophie avec les enfants connaît aujourd'hui un intérêt grandissant pour sa contribution à la formation de la personne en tant qu'individu autonome et libre et responsable.

Reconnue par l'UNESCO comme étant une méthode favorisant une éducation à la démocratie, cette pratique se retrouve aujourd'hui dans des écoles d'une soixantaine de pays.

A La Découverte, il nous a semblé essentiel d’introduire petit à petit la pratique de la philosophie avec les enfants comme un moyen d’élaborer un discours argumenté, de nourrir une réflexion critique et de construire sa pensée.