Cycle II is from the 2nd to the 5th grade, during which the pupils are introduced to a range of new programs including, from the 3rd to the 5th grade, information technology tools and, from the 5th grade, German lessons.
Speaking and listening homework begins to be set from the 3rd grade, developing into some written exercises in the 4th grade.
From the 5th grade, children get homework in English, French and German each week to bring back for the following week.

Days at School: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday
Class hours: 8:30am - 3:30pm (children welcomed at 8am)

English

Percentage of teaching in French and English:

  • In 2nd-3rd grade: 50% / 50%
  • In 4th grade: 75% French / 25% English
  • In 5th grade: 50% /50%

German

In German, the pupils discover a new language, beginning their studies in the 5th grade. The children's previous experience in English facilitates their learning and enables them to make links between the two languages.

The objectives at the end of the 8th grade are those of the Romand Program of Study. They must acquire and develop the skills, which enable them to understand short texts, simple stories, game rules, letters and forms. They must have a certain vocabulary and be able to identify certain language characteristics and patterns. They must be able to react to a given situation by expressing themselves in clear sentences.

At the end of their education at La Découverte, the children take the Genevan Cantonal exam in German. Our German teachers are all native speakers.

Reading

At La Découverte, we prioritise learning to read through context and meaning. Children's picture books are the main resource for the pupil's discovery and exploration of the written word. We do, however, use other types of written texts, non-fiction explanation texts, recipes, game rules and the pupil's own written work. Exposure to 'real-life' writing allows the reader to become aware of the complex and diverse world, which opens up to them as they learn to read..

Detailed objectives

During Cycle II, our learning objectives are worked on through immersion in both languages, according to the curriculum at La Découverte.

Reading (pdf)

Writing (pdf)

Maths (pdf)

The attainment of all English objectives is not necessary in order to progress to Cycle II.


Cross-Curricular objectives

Artistic, cultural and environmental education:

  • School, a place of culture for young people
  • Culture, the source of knowledge and learning

More information (pdf)

Assessment

Parent meetings with pupil and teacher in November and May

More information can be found in Evaluation


End of Cycle II report

  • Internal tests in French and in English
  • Parent meeting at the end of the 5th grade followed by a written report.

Information technology

From the age of six, all the children are given an initiation into information technology tools, for one afternoon a fortnight per fifteen pupils, in groups of 4 to 6.

Gradually, they learn to use a computer and to manage their digital folders in an autonomous way. They discover useful programs for the presentation of their class work and learn to use the Internet in an intelligent way, teaching them to research topics in complete security.

Information technology is integrated into the class work and may be a time to complete research project during a themed lesson, or to shape and record work intended to be read by a third party. Little by little, the children take on board the management of their own digital portfolio, which is available for families to view.

The Class Teachers and Information Technology Teachers work collaboratively so that the technology objectives are integrated into the program of study.

Plus de détails (pdf)

Philosophy in the classroom.

At La Découverte, it is considered essential to introduce, gradually, the practice of philosophy with the children as a way of building coherent arguments, nourishing critical reflexion and constructing thought processes.

As philosophy is key for developing critical thought, creative though, self-confidence and social skills, there has been growing interest in the practice of philosophy with children because of its contribution to the development of autonomous, free, responsible individuals.

Cycle II, de la 2e à la 5e, quatre années durant lesquelles sont introduits dès la 3e une initiation aux outils informatiques et dès la 5e, l’apprentissage de l’allemand.
Les devoirs oraux commencent en 3e, se développent en 4e avec quelques travaux écrits.
Dès la 5e, les élèves reçoivent chaque semaine des devoirs à faire en français, en anglais et en allemand à rendre la semaine suivante.

Jours de classe: lundi, mardi, jeudi et vendredi
Horaires de classe: 8h30 à 15h30 (accueil dès 8h)

Anglais

Pourcentage de l’enseignement en français et en anglais:

  • en 2e-3e: 50% / 50%
  • en 4e: 75% français / 25% anglais
  • en 5e: 50% /50%

Allemand

Avec l'allemand, les élèves découvrent une nouvelle langue et commencent son apprentissage à partir de la 5e. Le fait de travailler déjà en anglais leur facilite cette approche par les liens qu’ils font entre les deux langues.

Les objectifs en fin de 8e sont ceux du Plan d’Etudes Romand. Il s’agit d’acquérir et de développer des connaissances qui leur permettent de comprendre des textes courts, des histoires simples, des règles de jeu, une lettre, un formulaire. Ils se constituent un bagage de mots et identifient quelques caractéristiques du fonctionnement de la langue. Ils doivent pouvoir réagir à une situation donnée en s’exprimant avec des phrases compréhensibles.

A la fin de leur scolarité à La Découverte, les élèves passent l’épreuve cantonale de l’Etat de Genève. Nos enseignants d’allemand sont tous des locuteurs natifs.

Lecture

A La Découverte, nous privilégions l’apprentissage de la lecture par le sens. Les albums de littérature jeunesse constituent les supports les plus importants pour faire découvrir et approfondir le monde de l’écrit aux enfants. Mais nous utilisons également d’autres types d’écrits, ouvrages documentaires, recettes de cuisine, règles du jeu, productions d’élèves, de vrais textes pour former des lecteurs conscients de la complexité et de la diversité de l’univers qui s’ouvre à eux quand ils apprennent à lire.

Objectifs détaillés

Au cours du Cycle II, nos objectifs d’apprentissage sont travaillés en immersion dans les deux langues, d’après le curriculum de La Découverte.

Lecture (pdf)

Ecrit (pdf)

Maths (pdf)

L'atteinte des objectifs en anglais n'est pas décisive pour passer au Cycle III.


Objectifs transversaux

Education artistique, culturelle et environnementale:

  • L’école, lieu de culture pour les jeunes
  • La culture, source de savoir et d’apprentissage

Plus de détails (pdf)

évaluation

Entretien parents/enseignant/élève en novembre et en mai

Plus d'info dans Evaluation


Bilan fin de période II

  • Tests internes en français et en anglais
  • Entretien tripartite à la fin de la 5e basé sur un rapport écrit qui est envoyé aux parents

Informatique

Dès l'âge de six ans, tous les enfants bénéficient d’une initiation aux outils informatiques à raison d’une demi-journée par quinzaine et dispensée en petits groupes de 4 à 6 élèves.

Progressivement, ils apprennent à utiliser un ordinateur et à gérer leurs dossiers de façon autonome. Ils découvrent des logiciels utiles à la présentation de travaux de classe et apprennent à utiliser l’Internet de façon sûre et intelligente de manière à se former à la recherche d’informations en toute sécurité.

L’informatique est intégrée au travail de classe et doit servir à compléter les recherches dans le cadre de conférences menées sur certains thèmes et à permettre la mise en forme et en page de travaux destinés à être lus par des tiers. Peu à peu, ils s’approprient la gestion de leur portfolio numérique qui sera à disposition des familles.

Les enseignants de classe et d’informatique travaillent en étroite collaboration afin que les compétences informatiques soient intégrées au programme.

Plus de détails (pdf)

Pratique de la philosophie avec les enfants

A La Découverte, il nous a semblé essentiel d’introduire petit à petit la pratique de la philosophie avec les enfants comme un moyen d’élaborer un discours argumenté, de nourrir une réflexion critique et de construire sa pensée.

Parce qu'elle développe la pensée critique, la pensée créatrice, l'estime de soi et la socialisation de l'enfant, la pratique de la philosophie avec les enfants connaît aujourd'hui un intérêt grandissant pour sa contribution à la formation de la personne en tant qu'individu autonome et libre et responsable.